Street Roots Vendor Donnie Osmer, at just 59 years old, has led a life rich with experiences. Departing from his humble roots growing up in Oregon City, Donnie traveled the world, including Europe, Australia and New Zealand, and even lived on the island of Maui, before returning to the Pacific Northwest.

An accomplished student, he achieved his associate degree in criminal justice and social services and worked for 6 years as a crisis intervention counselor and DUI and addiction counselor. Next, Donnie got a job as an addiction counselor for a prison.

“It quickly became apparent that they needed more transition counseling than addiction counseling,” Donnie said. “It was a great experience for me and for the prisoners.”

Only a couple of years into his tenure as a Street Roots vendor, Donnie’s background in counseling is invaluable.

“Our whole paper is about supporting marginalized people,” he said. “Joining Street Roots has been life-changing. I love the social justice aspect to the writing, and I also do free listening. As a former counselor, I just listen. My approach is open and affirming.”

And he credits Street Roots for helping him out of a tough medical situation. In January 2023, he found out he had a life-altering Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus, or MRSA, infection, which had settled into a bone in his leg. The surgeons removed about six inches of his fibula to address the infection, and he was in a wheelchair for 12 weeks.

“Living in Portland in a wheelchair is treacherous,” he said. “Our streets are terrible.”

Donnie spent eight weeks in a respite center healing from his surgery.

“If it weren’t for Street Roots, I wouldn’t have been able to work,” he said. “But now I can run around.”

His life also recently improved when he got into a sober living house with 10 roommates.

“They are all my age or older,” he said. “It has been great!”

Getting into the sober house motivated him to make other hard life changes.

“I’m 59, looking at 60, and I’m trying to quit smoking,” he said. “Vaping isn’t working for me, but I’m down to 2-3 cigarettes a day.”

Donnie’s got plans for the future as well.

“In five years, I’ll be healthy, and therefore, I’ll be happy,” he said. “I’d like to get back to working directly with people in need — to return to social services. I feel like I can do anything!”

While he loves the journalism at Street Roots, the best part of selling Street Roots is his connection with customers.

“I have beautiful customers,” he said. “My community in West Moreland is such a strength to me. They are my fancy friends. I have so many friends.”

And he feels equally warm toward his community at Street Roots.

“Coming to Street Roots is like coming home,” Donnie said. “Even when I have a jobby job and worky work and a lifey life, I’ll still be working at Street Roots. It’s a wonderful life.”

Donnie sells Street Roots at the QFC in West Moreland and at Peet’s Coffee at NE 15th and Broadway. Soon, he plans to sell at the Farmer’s Market in Milwaukie. Donnie can also be supported via @StreetRoots Venmo by entering his name and badge number (705) in the notes.


Street Roots is an award-winning weekly investigative publication covering economic, environmental and social inequity. The newspaper is sold in Portland, Oregon, by people experiencing homelessness and/or extreme poverty as means of earning an income with dignity. Street Roots newspaper operates independently of Street Roots advocacy and is a part of the Street Roots organization. Learn more about Street Roots. Support your community newspaper by making a one-time or recurring gift today.

© 2024 Street Roots. All rights reserved.  | To request permission to reuse content, email editor@streetroots.org or call 503-228-5657, ext. 40