Replying to the cancellation would have been kind, but it's far from necessary. Getty Images.

DEAR MISS MANNERS: My massage therapist called me on the phone to cancel my appointment because she was sick. I was in the bathroom at the time, so I didn’t get to talk to her, I just heard the message.

I was disappointed, but I just proceeded with my plans for the day. Two days later, I received an email from her canceling my NEXT appointment and refunding the balance on my prepaid account.

I emailed her, asking what the deal was. She replied that since I had not called her back, and as she did not want to do business with “rude people,” she sent the refund and did not want to see me anymore.

I was flabbergasted. Since when am I required to make a phone call back when the one received was a clear message? Am I ignorant about new manners related to new technology?

I certainly did not mean to be rude, and I do not think I did anything wrong. If I am incorrect, please explain my error.

Stories by Judith Martin

GENTLE READER: Either your massage therapist overreacted, or you underestimated the intensity of this relationship. A confirmation call and sympathy for her illness would have been kind, but not obligatory -- and certainly not worthy of a lifelong ban in their absence.

Miss Manners is afraid you will have to find yourself a masseuse who is less, well, touchy.

Please send your questions to Miss Manners at her website, www.missmanners.com; to her email, dearmissmanners@gmail.com; or through postal mail to Miss Manners, Andrews McMeel Syndication, 1130 Walnut St., Kansas City, MO 64106.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.