Shamier Little wins a heat women's 400-meter run during the U.S. Track and Field Olympic Team Trials Friday, June 21, 2024, in Eugene. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)

EUGENE — Kaylyn Brown, who just wrapped up her freshman year at the University of Arkansas, led all qualifiers in the semifinals of the 400 meters Saturday, but veteran Shamier Little might turn out to be the show-stealer.

Brown clocked a smoking time of 49.71. Kendall Ellis won her heat in 49.81. And Little, 29, suddenly is in the conversation.

She is better known for the 400 hurdles, the event in which she earned a silver medal in the 2015 and 2023 World Outdoor Championships.

She is entered in both the 400 and the 400 hurdles at the U.S. Olympic trials at Hayward Field. On Friday she posted the fastest first-round qualifying time in the 400 of 50.13, then said afterward she would forgo the 400 for the rest of the meet to concentrate on the hurdles.

But on Saturday she was back on the 400 start line and clocked the fourth-fasted semifinal time of 50.16 to qualify for Sunday’s final. And, yeah, she plans to run Sunday.

About those plans to skip the 400 semis.

“Some things were reconsidered,” Little said. “I was excited about yesterday’s run. So, let’s go for it. I’m strong. I’m capable. I’ve trained for it. I’m a 400-meter as well.”

Why not?

“Man, I have a lot of confidence going into the final,” she said. “I’m taking all the experience with me. This is my first 400 final at a USA championship, so it’s fun. I’m going to have a lot of fun and I’m going to put down a fast time.”

Olympic track and field trials

The 400 hurdles still loom. The 400/400 hurdles double would be difficult in the Olympics should it come to that. Little was ruling nothing out Saturday after the 400 semis.

“We’ll talk about it when we get there,” she said. “For now, one day at a time.”

At this point in her life, it’s all good.

“I’m damn near 30,” Little said. “I have a new calmness about me, psychologically, physically. There is just a deep, deep trust in myself. I think that is the only thing that matters.”

Here are results from the U.S. Olympic trials.

-- Ken Goe for the Oregonian/OregonLive

KenGoe1020@gmail.com

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.