Sha’Carri Richardson holds her gold medal after winning the women’s 100-meter final on Day 2 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Sha’Carri Richardson reacts after winning the women’s 100-meter final on Day 2 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Sha’Carri Richardson wins the women’s 100-meter final on Day 2 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Sha’Carri Richardson wins the women’s 100-meter final on Day 2 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Sha’Carri Richardson reacts after winning the women’s 100-meter final on Day 2 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Sha’Carri Richardson holds her gold medal after winning the women’s 100-meter final on Day 2 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Sha’Carri Richardson signs her name on the base of a model of the Eiffel Tower after winning the women’s 100 meters on Day 2 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Sha'Carri Richardson celebrates her win in the women's 100-meter run final during the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, in Eugene. Richardson clocked a world-leading 10.71 seconds to earn a spot on Team USA for the Paris Olympics. (AP Photo/Chris Carlson)

Sha’Carri Richardson (center) wins her semifinal heat of the women’s 100 meters on Day 2 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Sha'Carri Richardson wins a women's 100-meter run semifinal during the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Saturday, June 22, 2024, in Eugene. (AP Photo/George Walker IV)

  • 623 shares

EUGENE — Sha’Carri Richardson came to the U.S. Olympic trials. She saw. She conquered.

Richardson powered to the women’s 100-meter title Saturday at Hayward Field, starting slow then pulling away from the field over the last 50 meters to win with a time of 10.71 seconds.

As she crossed the finish line, she tapped her chest in triumph.

“I felt confident, felt excitement more so than emotion and joy,” said Richardson, who went to her knees as she saw her time go up on the scoreboard. “I know that I’ve mentally and emotionally grown into the mature young lady I am today.”

Three years ago, Richardson was disqualified from the Olympic trials after testing positive for cannabis. It cost her the opportunity to compete in the Tokyo Olympics.

That wasn’t the end of the story. She came back last year to win the 100 at the USA and world championships.

The success continued Saturday before a crowd of 11,852. She was followed across the finish line by training partners Melissa Jefferson, second in 10.80, and Twanisha Terry, third in 10.89.

All three are coached by Olympian Dennis Mitchell as part of the Florida-based Star Athletics training group.

“We knew this moment would be possible as long as we put our minds, our bodies and our spirit into it,” Richardson said.

Next stop for all three will be the Olympic Games in Paris.

“I’m super excited,” Richardson said.

Former University of Oregon star Jenna Prandini finished eighth in the 100 final in 11.02. Prandini, a two-time Olympian, has had more international success in the 200 and still has that race to run here.

Making the 100 final “is a good feat,” Prandini said. “I’m a little disappointed. I know I could have run a little bit better. But I’m using this as a positive and I’ll be ready go.”

English Gardner, the former UO star and 2016 Olympic trials champion, bowed out in Saturday’s 100 semifinals. She finished eighth of nine in her heat with a time of 11.31.

Gardner sees this as more the start of something than the finish of anything.

“I attacked the season with everything I have,” Gardner said. “I’ve learned some things about myself late in the season. Now that I know those things, I can start next year and figure it out. And the season isn’t done. There will be meets up until the Olympics and after. I’ll just keep chopping down these times.

“I’m 32 years old. I’ve made it to the semifinals of my fourth Olympic trials. I don’t know too many people in the 100 meters who can say that. I’m proud of myself for doing something a lot of people my age aren’t doing.”

Olympic track and field trials

Current UO student Jadyn Mays also failed to advance from the semifinals, finishing a non-qualifying fourth in her heat in 11.20.

“There were a lot of really fast women in that heat,” Mays said. “So, yeah, I was happy to be in that same conversation, to be able to go out and compete with them.”

Mays also is entered in the 200.

In the first round of the men’s 100. reigning world championships gold medalist Noah Lyles blitzed his qualifying heat in 9.92, the day’s fastest time.

Former UO sprinter Kyree King also advanced out of the first round with a fourth-place finish in Lyles’ heat. The top five finishers in each heat moved into Sunday’s semifinals. Cravon Gillespie, another former Oregon runner, false started and was disqualified.

Lyles started well and opened a big enough lead to ease across the finish line.

“I would definitely say that’s the best I’ve felt,” Lyles said. “I think I ran a little faster at worlds last year. But I didn’t have what I was looking for last year in the first round at worlds. I was still kind of searching. This year I have everything when I want it.”

Here are results from the Olympic trials.

-- Ken Goe for The Oregonian/OregonLive

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.