A DJ who wasn’t allowed to listen to the radio growing up? That was the reality
for Donta Laneil, though his Northeast Portland home was still filled with music. But it was largely neo-soul from the likes of Jill Scott, Carl Thomas, and Angie Stone, played by parents who didn’t want him “influenced by the context” of what he might hear on popular stations, he remembers, but who in turn set him up for success: today he’s known for epic old school–new school mashups. His Sounds by Dontā DJ persona is behind Brown Suga’, a recurring R&B-themed party at venues like Sugar Hill and Jackie’s, and his entertainment company, Blacker The Berry, puts on other events that make Rose City natives feel seen. “If you’re Black and from Portland, a lot of times your ideas aren’t valued as much as transplants’ voices are,” Laneil says. “I know when people from here see me doing what I’m doing, they appreciate it so much.”


Your take on Portland’s music scene? It doesn’t have a particular “sound.” From Wynne to Mic Capes to Aminé, artists can curate their own sound and sound nothing alike. 

Favorite place in the city to clear your mind? The waterfront. There’s a place close to OMSI that has a dope view of the skyline. 

Favorite part about summer? The energy shift. We’ve been cooped up all year. 

Go-to restaurants to take out-of-towners? Ja’Das Soulful Eatz, Joe Brown’s Carmel Corn, Kee’s Loaded Kitchen.

Food you hate that everyone seems to love? Sweet potato pie. 

Retail store that’s Portland’s best-kept secret? Unspoken, in Chinatown.  

Favorite book? The Truth About Men by DeVon Franklin.

Favorite TV show? Right now, The Vince Staples Show.

Eternal playlist song? “I Was There for You” by Kareem Ali.

Favorite Oregon road trip? The Oregon coast.

Local food spot you love in summer? Jack’s Chicken on Alberta.

Who’s your hero? My mom and my dad. Support they’ve given me, especially over the past two years, has helped me get to where I am. 

Scariest career moment? Whenever my DJ equipment malfunctions. 

Best advice you’ve received? Take more risks.

Worst advice you’ve received? Move out of Portland. 

What’s your mantra? “You’re never as good as they say you are; you’re never as bad as they say you are.”

Best gift you’ve received? The trolley my mom got me for my DJ equipment. 

What excites you the most about the future of Portland? There’s such an open playing field for creatives.  

Three words that describe Portland? Underrated. Eclectic. Nature.

Three words that describe you? Resilient. Caring. Loving.