Quincy Hall wins the men's 400-meter final during the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Monday, June 24, 2024, in Eugene. (AP Photo/George Walker IV)

  • 112 shares

EUGENE — Quincy Hall caught front-running Michael Norman on the home straight of the men’s 400-meter final Monday at Hayward Field, and raced past him to the victory in the U.S. Olympic trials.

Hall finished in 44.17 seconds. Norman was second in 44.41. They will be joined on the U.S. Olympic team by Chris Bailey, third in 44.42.

Hall, who finished third in the 2023 world championships, said in a postrace television interview that he had a single thought in his head as he turned onto the home straight.

“Get home son, get home son,” Hall said. “That’s all I kept telling myself.”

High schooler Quincy Wilson, who set the U18 world record twice in the preliminary rounds, easily was the crowd favorite. The Maryland 16-year-old got a huge ovation from the 12,180 fans when introduced before the race.

Wilson kept his poise and ran respectably in the final, crossing the finish line sixth in 44.94. Afterward he called the fan reaction “amazing.”

“I was thinking it’s a Monday,” he said. “They may not be like they were the day before and the day before that. But they really did come out today, and they cheered for me. It pumped me up a lot.”

Quincy Wilson, 16, looks on before competing in the men’s 400-meter final on Day 4 of the U.S. Olympic track and field trials on Monday, June 24, 2024, at Hayward Field in Eugene. Wilson finished sixth.

Even his inside lane didn’t matter.

“I looked and saw I was in Lane 2, and forget about that,” Wilson said. “The fans made me wipe that all off my head.”

Wilson still could be an Olympian if chosen for the 4x400 relay pool.

Norman was probably the favorite going into the race. He is the 2022 world outdoor champion and won the Olympic trials in 2021. He seems to have put a lost year in 2023 behind him with a coaching change.

He was philosophical after the race, saying he went out too hard.

“I got a little too excited for a moment and paid for it at the end,” Norman said. “It’s a learning experience.”

Olympic track and field trials

Some lessons come with a cost, and Hall collected. He was all smiles afterward, and said he was living in the moment.

“I’m really having fun and doing good things,” he said. “I don’t really look for tomorrow. I can’t see tomorrow. All I can do is do now. I have this race behind me. I’m going to go cool down, get some food in me. I’m going to chill.”

Here are results from the Olympic trials.

-- Ken Goe for The Oregonian/OregonLive

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.