He's told her a few times to shut up and not talk to him. What's up?

DEAR ABBY: My husband and I have been married 37 years. We’ve always been happily married. He gives me loving greeting cards, telling me how much he loves me, and so much more.

Over the past few days, he has been snapping at everything I say. He twists it around and accuses me of saying it nastily. I didn’t, and when I repeated it the same way, he disagreed.

He’s so touchy. He even told me a few times to shut up and not talk to him. For a little while I didn’t. Then I remarked, even though he tried to shut me up, that if he hates me so much, he must have a girlfriend. He got furious at that.

I finally suggested he see a doctor. I thought maybe he’d had a stroke. Hopefully, he’ll think about that, because something has changed. What do you think? -- MISTREATED IN ILLINOIS

Stories by Abigail Van Buren

DEAR MISTREATED: What has been happening with your husband is very recent.

Give it a few weeks and see if it is a lasting change. If it is, THAT would be the time to talk to your husband. Tell him the change in his personality is striking, and you are worried about him.

His problem may be emotional or financial and have nothing to do with you. If there is a chance that there could be a medical problem, alert his doctor at that time.

Dear Abby is written by Abigail Van Buren, also known as Jeanne Phillips, and was founded by her mother, Pauline Phillips. Contact Dear Abby at www.DearAbby.com or P.O. Box 69440, Los Angeles, CA 90069.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.