A woman visiting a newborn family member at Randall Children's Hospital was tackled to the ground by a Legacy Health security guard after an argument at a bag check.

PORTLAND, Ore. — A Portland woman says a Legacy Health security guard used excessive force in tackling her to the ground at a security checkpoint at Randall Children's Hospital at Legacy Emanuel.

A video shows part of the fight near the hospital's entrance. Legacy Health said in a statement that it is investigating the "troubling incident" to gather all the facts.

Desiree Turner told KGW that she took her 3-year-old daughter to the hospital to meet her nephew's new baby at the hospital, but they didn't make it past security.

A video, taken by hospital visitor Arie Streeter at the security area, shows how a Legacy security guard wrestled Turner to the ground.

"He was already using so much excessive force," Turner said. "I just didn’t know his limits, and that was scary in that moment."

Streeter said she felt the physical fight was uncalled for.

“I feel like it was unneeded, very inappropriate; things could’ve went a lot smoother," Streeter said. "He didn’t have to put his hands on her."

Turner and Streeter said the incident started with a security check. Turner said the guard wanted to take her bag and inspect it, but she asked if she could empty the belongings of her bag herself.

"They're doing a job, but they're not law enforcement, so why should I let you touch my personal belongings?" Turner said.

Then, Turner said her daughter ran off down the hallway and she went after her.

"I said, 'I'm just going to go get my baby; get out of my way,'" Turner said.

Streeter said she believes that escalated the situation.

"The security guard took that as her trying to resist and get away," Streeter said.

Multiple security guards restrained Turner on the ground. Portland Police investigated the fight but didn't arrest Turner, although she was kicked out of the hospital.

Turner said her biggest fear is that the fight will be a core memory for her daughter.

"She’s been having nightmares, waking up out of her sleep and screaming, asking me if I’m fighting, if I’m going to fight, am I okay?" Turner said. 

The fight raises questions about the public's expectations for private security guards.

Less than a year ago, a man shot and killed a security guard at a Legacy hospital, prompting Legacy Health to increase security across all of its locations.

Anthony Gentile, associate director of the Center for Private Security and Safety at John Jay College of Criminal Justice, told KGW that unclear public expectations for private security can lead to situations like this one.

“This is a perfect example. I've never, frankly, walked into a hospital where bags and packages were going to be inspected," Gentile said. "So, am I restricting your liberty? I clearly am, but I'm only doing that because I've been told to do that by my client."

Gentile said private security policies over use of force can vary widely, and he pointed out how the Legacy guards wear paramilitary uniforms.

“Clearly, they're concerned about prior incidents, and I suspect a police show of force is something they're going to utilize for a while until they feel more comfortable," Gentile said. 

He added that private security walks a fine line between respecting public liberties and following company orders. Clear signage about bag checks and clear communication about intentions can help de-escalate situations before they begin, Gentile said.

Without viewing the lead-up to the video, Gentile said he couldn't give an opinion on whether the security guard's force was justified.

But Turner said she doesn't feel safe at the hospital anymore, and she's still processing the incident and how it escalated.

“I think that it’s good for them to protect the hospital, but I don’t feel they should treat everybody as a criminal coming in," Turner said.