The bad picture has this laundry washer feeling low. Getty Images.

DEAR ABBY: Last week, I wasn’t looking my best at the laundromat. An ex-coworker, who I haven’t seen in longer than I worked with them -- and who never liked me -- decided to sneak an unflattering photo of me. I’m guessing it was to show my old employer, who also never really liked me.

This has shattered my already fragile self-esteem. I’ve been depressed and stressed about this, and I don’t know how to let it go and move forward. My friends and boyfriend say this person is jealous and I should forget it. I’ve been really low and struggling to do that.

I hadn’t run into either of these people in eight years in our neighborhood, but I worry they could spread this photo around and damage my professional reputation and business. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. -- CAUGHT OFF-GUARD

Stories by Abigail Van Buren

DEAR CAUGHT: Listen to the good advice you received from your friends and boyfriend. You have blown this completely out of proportion. People (regardless of their profession) are not required to be glamorous at the laundromat.

Dear Abby is written by Abigail Van Buren, also known as Jeanne Phillips, and was founded by her mother, Pauline Phillips. Contact Dear Abby at www.DearAbby.com or P.O. Box 69440, Los Angeles, CA 90069.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.