Thank you notes. They never stop being a problem. Getty Images.

DEAR MISS MANNERS: I am newly married and trying hard to keep up with appropriate appreciation for all those who have offered well wishes and gifts. I have a conundrum about how to handle gifts from a group of people.

My husband’s cousin mailed a gift and signed the note, “With love from [Cousin, spouse; Daughter 1, spouse; Son, spouse; Daughter 2, spouse].” I suppose she ran out of room for the six grandchildren’s names!

These couples all live separately. Should I mail one letter to the cousin, or send notes to each household? If I send one, should I address it to the cousin or to all eight of them individually? They don’t share a last name, so I can’t use “Smith family.”

Thankfully, I know that I must keep my thoughts about these well-to-do people sending a gift that amounts to $5 per adult to myself ... and maybe my new husband.

Stories by Judith Martin

GENTLE READER: You may also want to be careful about how you share that information with your new husband: He might notice that it is his relatives you would be calling cheap.

Miss Manners recommends that you address your letter to the cousin, in the course of which you can thank her “and the family.” She does not recommend four separate letters not because she thinks that is too much effort, but rather out of concern that not everyone on the list would know what you were talking about.

Please send your questions to Miss Manners at her website, www.missmanners.com; to her email, dearmissmanners@gmail.com; or through postal mail to Miss Manners, Andrews McMeel Syndication, 1130 Walnut St., Kansas City, MO 64106.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.