Are people losing their ability to be sympathetic? Getty Images.

DEAR MISS MANNERS: One expression is starting to get to me. Last year, three significant people in my life passed away; my best friend and two members of my immediate family. Everyone has expressed to me their “condolences” -- end of story.

It sounds as if they are uncomfortable, and this is the way to deal with their discomfort as quickly as possible. I would prefer “I am truly sorry” or “I know this must be very hard for you.”

Am I being too sensitive? Only my lawyer stated, “I can only imagine how hard this must be for you,” and I was very grateful for that sign of empathy from one person.

Stories by Judith Martin

GENTLE READER: “Please accept my condolences” is the correct thing to say. But just as “thoughts and prayers” has been edited down to two robotic words, people seem to think that just the one word is sufficient.

Miss Manners is glad that at least your lawyer knows how to convey a more human and sympathetic statement. She must be good at her job.

Please send your questions to Miss Manners at her website, www.missmanners.com; to her email, dearmissmanners@gmail.com; or through postal mail to Miss Manners, Andrews McMeel Syndication, 1130 Walnut St., Kansas City, MO 64106.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.