Why NOT wear a pretty dress to drive a school bus? Getty Images.

This column originally ran in 2023.

DEAR MISS MANNERS: I was raised in a world of social graces where you did not ask point-blank questions, except among family or very close friends. This has changed, which mostly doesn’t bother me; people are curious by nature.

The particular question that ruffles me is, “Why are you so dressed up?”

When I am asked this, I am not “dressed up.” I do my hair, do my makeup and wear business casual attire throughout the week.

Currently I am taking business classes, and I also drive a school bus for our district. I am on a high school route, and I feel image is very important. (I feel most of the other drivers dress fairly “slobby” and set a bad example. I hold my tongue on this opinion, though.) Also, I live in a southern climate, so dresses just make sense, but this has led to embarrassing moments of being asked if I wear dresses and skirts for religious purposes.

These are grown adults asking me this, not my students. I can’t get over how rude this is. Is there a way to handle this situation other than to roll my eyes and become sarcastic? Is a polished professional that rare these days?

Stories by Judith Martin

GENTLE READER: Yes, a polished look is now rare, which is all the more reason to expose high school students to it. And to teach it to grown-ups, whose motive with these questions can only be to lower your standards to meet theirs.

“No,” Miss Manners suggests you explain, “these are everyday clothes. I don’t wear my gym clothes to work.”

DEAR MISS MANNERS: When you invite someone to lunch, on you, isn’t it rude if they ask to bring someone else? It puts you in an awkward position, doesn’t it?

GENTLE READER: Not if you respond, “Not this time -- I was looking forward to a lunch with just the two of us.”

Please send your questions to Miss Manners at her website, www.missmanners.com; to her email, dearmissmanners@gmail.com; or through postal mail to Miss Manners, Andrews McMeel Syndication, 1130 Walnut St., Kansas City, MO 64106.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.