Finish your bite, then talk. It's as simple as that.

DEAR MISS MANNERS: I have noticed, even among people I otherwise consider well-mannered, a new trend. During a meal, when someone wants to speak while eating, they hold their hand up to obscure their mouth.

They seem to know that speaking with their mouth full is rude, but they also seem to think this action fools me into thinking their mouth is not full, despite their having just put a forkful of food into it.

I was taught that if someone asks a question or makes a comment requiring a response to someone who is chewing, it is polite to finish chewing, even to hold up one’s finger to indicate “Just a moment, please; I have food in my mouth.”

What is the appropriate reaction to this hiding-with-the-hand business? Should I say, “I’m not in a hurry. Take your time. I can wait until you don’t have food in your mouth”? That sounds critical, as if I am trying to impose my manners on them. Help!

Stories by Judith Martin

GENTLE READER: Technically, you would be imposing their own manners on them, but never mind.

Miss Manners also finds this covering of the mouth inadequate -- by which she means, revolting. As one cannot properly correct another’s manners, the answer is a full stop after the assurance that the speaker should take their time -- that you are not in a rush.

Please send your questions to Miss Manners at her website, www.missmanners.com; to her email, dearmissmanners@gmail.com; or through postal mail to Miss Manners, Andrews McMeel Syndication, 1130 Walnut St., Kansas City, MO 64106.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.