Watching President Joe Biden in the presidential debate and George Stephanopoulos interview, I immediately thought back to when I had to take away my 82-year-old father’s car keys, (“Biden rejects independent medical evaluation in ABC interview as he fights to stay in race,” July 5). It was apparent to everyone around him that he was no longer safe to drive - he regularly swerved out of his lane, became distracted and got lost. But he was adamant that he was a safe driver, partly out of pride, but also fear of the reality that he was steadily declining. When I took away his car keys he was furious. He remained angry at me until he died.

I’m a lifelong Democrat, but I know what I saw. Pride and denial aren’t a winning strategy. I fear that if Biden is our candidate, we’re headed for a car wreck named President Donald Trump.

Mitch Lang, Portland

To read more letters to the editor, go to oregonlive.com/opinion.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.