Are they going to pull the house out from under their father who has been living there for free? Getty Images.

DEAR ABBY: My father has depended on my mother (and me) for money for as long as I can remember. It wasn’t because he was unable to work, but because he was lazy and had a drinking and gambling problem. My parents eventually divorced, and my father moved in with his sister (my aunt). She died in 2016, which would have made my father homeless, so my sister and I bought our aunt’s home from our cousins so he could stay there.

Fast-forward: Our father is planning to remarry. We do not love paying for him to live rent-free in our house, but in no way do we plan to pay for his future wife to live in the house.

The money isn’t that significant, but it is more the principle of the matter to me. I don’t believe in supporting lazy people who take advantage of others. How do we kick our father out of the house without being total jerks? He is older and not in great health. We suspect the equally nonworking, slightly younger woman he plans to marry sees this as a chance to move into a house for free, knowing it is hard to kick out squatters. Please advise. -- FRUSTRATED SON IN NEW YORK

Stories by Abigail Van Buren

DEAR SON: You and your family have ALLOWED your father to continue living his life dependent upon all of you. I hope your aunt’s house is in your and your sister’s names, or you will have no say about who your father invites in. The time has come to put your foot down. Consult an attorney for legal guidance about this matter. You are not obligated to financially support any person to whom your father takes a liking and wants to live with, married or not.

Dear Abby is written by Abigail Van Buren, also known as Jeanne Phillips, and was founded by her mother, Pauline Phillips. Contact Dear Abby at www.DearAbby.com or P.O. Box 69440, Los Angeles, CA 90069.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.