South Albany student Ysabel Adriano talks with mentor Yesenia Amaro during the 2024 High School Journalism Institute at Oregon State University.

The world will always need journalists.

Communities across the globe will always need reporters to hold those in power accountable and to be a voice for the afflicted.

Even as the journalism industry continues to evolve, one thing we have known with certainty, is that we will always need journalists.

I was delighted to participate as a mentor in this year’s High School Journalism Institute, which brought together 18 high school students from across Oregon. Students got a taste of what journalism is like in a real newsroom.

I was very proud of my two students, Ysabel Adriano, 14, and Alexa Aguirre, 14, who found themselves in a tough spot, but still managed to get their story done by deadline. Just like it sometimes happens in the real world, the interviewees for the story I had arranged for them canceled on me less than 24 hours before my students were supposed to start reporting. As a result of having to find another last-minute story, my students were behind on the reporting process, but they still managed to meet deadline.

There were moments of stress, but there were also moments of joy throughout the week-long journalism camp.

It made me happy to see the students’ enthusiasm and curiosity about the craft that I dearly love. Most importantly, I was glad to see the diverse body of students at HSJI, which gave me hope. As an industry, we need to do a better job when it comes to having more diverse newsrooms to better reflect all the communities we cover.

I really hope some of the HSJI participants will decide to pursue a career in journalism in the future. Those who do will be part of our next generation of journalists who will carry the industry forward.

-- Yesenia Amaro is an investigative reporter with a focus on social issues and communities of color. Reach her at 503-221-4395; yamaro@oregonian.com.

If you purchase a product or register for an account through a link on our site, we may receive compensation. By using this site, you consent to our User Agreement and agree that your clicks, interactions, and personal information may be collected, recorded, and/or stored by us and social media and other third-party partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy.